Luv My Planet


Fun with Plarn

Posted in Reduce, Reuse, Recycle by luvmyplanet on 01/01/2011

As you may know by now, I never throw something in the regular trash if it can be repurposed or recycled. Therefore, for longer than I care to admit, I have been adrift in a sea of plastic bags from loaves of bread, packaging, etc. A few months ago, I discovered the phenomenon of plarn – that is, yarn made out of strands cut from plastic bags. (For a tutorial, visit MyRecycledBags.com.)

For a while, I was using plarn as a kind of thread to stitch together the chains I had made from granola bar wrappers to make purses, place mats, and tablecloths. Then, I came across a back issue of an old knitting magazine that included step-by-step instructions for the novice knitter. Before I knew it, I had mastered casting on, basic knitting, and purling – all with plarn. (Still mustering the courage to attempt binding off.)

I have no idea what my creation-in-progress is going to be. Because my plarn is a mix of old bread bags, produce bags, Christmas candy bags, and plastic pillows randomly linked together, the end result is going to lack any of the five design principles we learn about in art class. However, on a positive note, its media will not be breaking down in a landfill or waterway, poisoning wildlife and ground water.

Leave a Reply

