Luv My Planet


Bubble Wrap Window Insulation

Posted in Reduce, Reuse, Recycle by luvmyplanet on 12/12/2010

Those who know me know that, if I can’t compost it, take it to the recycling bin, or give it to charity, I usually stash it somewhere and wait until I learn about a new purpose for it or have that Eureka moment.

This particular instance was not a Eureka moment, so I must give credit where credit is due. After seeing eco-designer Danny Seo on a couple episodes of “She’s Crafty,” I looked up his website for crafting and general repurposing ideas. Lo and behold, as I was reading his blog, there it was — a post on repurposing plastic bubble wrap. While his example involves the large-bubble variety, all I had on hand was the smaller variety. However, I still followed the directions he lays out and, four hours later, the plastic is still in place, and the draft has diminished. So, Danny, if you should stumble on to my little corner of the Internet, I am forever grateful for this little gem. Thank you!

Side note: If you live Stateside, you can watch “She’s Crafty” on IonLife two to three times a day. Wendy Russell, the host, is another brain when it comes to repurposing. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

