Luv My Planet


Lemons to Lemonade

Posted in Food, Gardening, & Agriculture,Recipes by luvmyplanet on 04/12/2010

Having bought a pound of pinto beans from the bulk bin at my local health foods store, I decided to make homemade refried beans. As one must always do with dried beans, I had to soak overnight what I intended to cook. This afternoon, I proceeded to cook the beans, along with part of a diced leek. Unfortunately, I misjudged the amount of water that went in the pot. After two hours of simmering, at least a third of the water was not yet absorbed…

…After letting the mixture cool for a bit, I threw the mixture into the food processor, thinking there would be some thickening. No dice. …

…So I poured the soupy mixture back into the pot and reheated…to no avail.

After that, I decided to cut my losses and simply consume my mixture as soup. With a little homemade salsa and nutritional yeast flakes, it turned out to be quite tasty! The recipe for one serving is below. You will need to adjust the measurements accordingly for additional servings.

1/4 cup pinto beans, soaked
1/4 leek, chopped
1 cup water
3 squirts Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (as salt replacer)
Black pepper to taste
1 TB salsa
1 tsp nutritional yeast flakes

Put beans, leek, water, aminos, and pepper in a small saucepan, and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer for two hours.

Remove mixture from heat, and allow to cool for about 15 minutes.

Pour mixture into food processor or blender. Process until well-blended.

Reheat, if desired, stirring regularly.

Pour into a bowl. Add salsa and nutritional yeast. Mix with spoon.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

